LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Share On:

Crewe and Nantwich residents consulted on proposed changes to borough council electoral arrangements

21st November 2006

Crewe and Nantwich residents consulted on proposed changes to borough council electoral arrangements

7th November 2006

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

Residents in Crewe and Nantwich are being asked for their views on new borough council electoral arrangements. The Boundary Committee for England today publishes its draft recommendations for proposed changes to provide a better electoral balance.

The public consultation period begins today and runs until 12 February 2007. The Committee will take into account all representations received by this date when it produces its final recommendations to submit to the Electoral Commission. The Committee may change some or all of the proposals, depending on the responses it receives during the consultation period. It is therefore important that members of the public let the Committee have their views, whether or not they agree with the draft recommendations.

Commenting on the proposals, the Committees Chair, Pamela Gordon, said: The aim of our review is to ensure that, as far as possible within each ward, each persons vote should have the same value as anothers, without disrupting community identities. We are consulting until 12 February 2007 and I hope that all those affected by our proposals will tell us what they think about them.

The Committees recommendations include:

-          Increasing the size of Crewe and Nantwich Borough Council from 56 to 57 councillors.

-          Amendments to improve electoral equality and strengthen ward boundaries in St Johns, St Marys, Willaston, Wistaston Green and Valley wards.

-          A mixture of single-member, two-member and three-member wards.

-          Boundaries based on 26 wards.

The Committee would especially like to hear the views of local people on the warding in the centre of Crewe around the existing Coppenhall, Delamere and Grosvenor wards and ideas on how to improve the boundaries and access within Nantwich, specifically in the area to the north of Hospital Street.

Copies of the report are available from the Committees website at www.boundarycommittee.org.uk  and will be available for reference at council offices and in public libraries.

Anyone wishing to make representations to the Committee on its draft recommendations should do so in writing no later than 12 February 2007 to: Review Manager (Welwyn Hatfield), The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW. All representations will be available for inspection (including the names and addresses of respondents unless otherwise specified), by appointment, at the Committees offices and copies will be available at the offices of the relevant local authority. Copies of all representations will also be available to be viewed on the Committees website. A list of respondents is also available on request from the Committee.

For further information contact:

Anna McGlynn on 020 7271 0530 or Elizabeth Hutchinson on 020 7271 0527

Out of office hours 07789 920 414



Notes to editors:

1.      PDFs of maps are available on The Boundary Committees website www.boundarycommittee.org.uk. For copyright permission, contact Ordnance Surveys help line on 023 8030 5092.

2.      The present review of Crewe and Nantwich began on 6 September 2005.

3.      The Boundary Committee for England is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.