LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Share On:

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Taunton Deane

11th July 2006

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Taunton Deane

11th July 2006

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

Final plans for new electoral arrangements in Taunton Deane are being submitted to The Electoral Commission today. The recommendations from The Boundary Committee for England mark the end of a review which began in May 2005. They include changes to ward boundaries across the borough.

Pamela Gordon, Chair of the Committee said: In November 2005, a 12-week period of public consultation on the draft recommendations began. The responses lead to some changes to our original proposals. The aim of the review has been to ensure that, as far as possible, one persons vote should have the same value as anothers.

The Electoral Commission is now responsible for deciding the outcome of the Committees recommendations and all further correspondence should be addressed to The Secretary, The Electoral Commission, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

As part of its final recommendations, the Committee proposed the council size of Taunton Deane Borough Council should increase from 54 to 56 councillors.

The Committees reports are available on its website at www.boundarycommittee.org.uk or at council offices and at public libraries. Copies of the reports can also be obtained by writing to The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London  SW1P 2HW.

For further information contact:

Anna McGlynn on 020 7271 0530 or Tabitha Cunniffe on 020 7271 0529

Out of Office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528



Notes to editors:

1.       PDFs of maps are available on The Boundary Committees website www.boundarycommittee.org.uk  For copyright permission, contact Ordnance Surveys helpline on 023 8030 5092.

2.       The present review of Taunton Deane began on 17 May 2005. Draft recommendations were published on 29 November 2005 and are also available on the Committees web site at www.boundarycommittee.org.uk

3.       The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.