LGBCE's site uses cookies to make your experience easier. Close this box to accept or go to our cookies page to find out more

Share On:

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Worcestershire

14th September 2004

The Boundary Committee announces proposals for electoral arrangements in Worcestershire

14th September 2004

This is an archived news release and links may no longer work.

Final plans for new electoral arrangements in Worcestershire are being submitted to The Electoral Commission today. The recommendations from The Boundary Committee for England mark the end of a review which began in March 2003. They include changes to division boundaries across the area.

Pamela Gordon, Chair of the Committee said: In February 2004, a nine-week period of public consultation on the draft recommendations began. The responses lead to some changes to our original proposals. The aim of the review has been to ensure that, as far as possible, one persons vote should have the same value as anothers. The improvements in electoral equality we are recommending today meet that objective without disrupting community interests.

The Electoral Commission is now responsible for deciding the outcome of the Committees recommendations and all further correspondence should be addressed to The Secretary, The Electoral Commission, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

The boundaries of all existing divisions will be subject to change. We are broadly confirming our draft recommendations as final, subject to the following amendments. In Worcester City, the new St Clement division should be renamed Riverside to better reflect local identity. In addition, the boundary between the proposed St Johns division and the Riverside division should be amended. In Wyre Forest district, we are proposing renaming two divisions to better reflect local identity. Our final recommendations are for a council size that remains unchanged at 57 councillors representing 52 divisions.

The Committees reports are available on its website at www.boundarycommittee.org.uk or at council offices and at public libraries. Copies of the reports can also be obtained by writing to The Boundary Committee for England, Trevelyan House, Great Peter Street, London SW1P 2HW.

For further information contact:

Maxine Hoeksma on 020 7271 0531 or Gemma Crosland on 020 7271 0527

Out of Office hours 07789 920 414, Fax: 020 7271 0528



Notes to editors:

1.       PDFs of maps are available on The Boundary Committees website www.boundarycommittee.org.uk  For copyright permission, contact Ordnance Surveys helpline on 023 8030 5092.

2.       The present review of Worcestershire began on 11 March 2003. Draft recommendations were published on 24 February 2004 and are also available on the Committees web site at www.boundarycommittee.org.uk

3.       The Boundary Committee is a statutory committee of The Electoral Commission.